Widows association «AVEA»


"80 women, 80 income-generating activities"

Marie, Fatou, Léa, ... these are these women



The project :
To enable 80 widows to better support their families through a dignified and sustainable economic activity. Improving their living conditions is a pressing necessity! These women will no longer be depreciated by the community and proudly assume their children in a more autonomous manner without waiting for outside help. Income derived from small businesses, small farms or services will enable these families to emerge from the extreme poverty they suffer as a result of the husband / father's death.

Household activity is essential for the health, safety and development of children.

We work above all for the autonomy and independence of these women.

We offer the most motivated and serious widows to use a zero-rate loan. This loan allows them to invest in small equipment, supplies or raw materials. We accompany them financially, physically and morally so that each one supports the needs of its family unit often composed of several children whose sole responsibility they have since the death of their husband. The loss of the husband is first of all an emotional suffering for the near family (women and children thus orphaned) but very quickly leads to a state of precariousness and causes daily difficulties for the mother. She must manage all the expenses of the family alone: ​​food, school fees, health costs

FOR REMINDER: The loan at rate 0 is not a micro credit !!! So we do not generate any profit. It is a self-directed saving system, enabling its members to have access in turn to the financing of the launch of their economic activity.

This program started in autumn 2012 with a budget of 1700 €.
The collection, organized by Gwendi, allowed us to launch the project with 40 of them at first.
The project currently involves 80 women and 350 children.
In May 2013, Greg (of Belgium) supported this program and these mothers by the call of 1000 euros extra !!

Implementation: each will undergo a simple management training and will be accompanied several months in order to establish a solid and well constructed project. Once the activity is chosen and the management plan is established, each is allocated the sum of 25,000 CFA (approximately € 38), covering their investment in equipment or supplies.
They will be monitored on a monthly basis by the three ladies of the office and by a professional volunteer accountant to ensure the smooth running of their activities.

Each month is held a general assembly animated by Constantin, the head of the Children of Abord. The opportunity for each to meet and exchange.

The loan lasts 6 months. The reimbursement of 5,000 CFA is scheduled monthly from the second month.

This project is particularly important to us because we know all these widowed moms, whose orphans are enrolled in our school, and sponsored by some of you!


"Projects ... individual, bringing hope ... collective"


Here are some examples of projects that have emerged, and which are developing thanks to you and this collection of 1700 euros:

  • traveling cuisines
  • peanut processing
  • corn processing
  • soap production
  • ...

These activities cover all sectors: the primary sector (agriculture, livestock ...), the secondary sector (product processing, embroidery, weaving ...) and the service sector (service crafts, local jobs, etc.).

This approach has already been tested with two of them, with the help of volunteers. They were trained in the field of trade and accounting, to enable them to set up their own business: one opened a liquid soap trade and the other specialized in the weaving of traditional loincloths.

The Bureau of the Amicale is composed of three literate widows.

The individual files are mounted, and the money distributed, with all the encouragement and good recommendations for the success of their income generating activity.

A first report was made by Toni, an English volunteer of a few weeks in April 2013. (see the report in PDF)

They are all very motivated and thank all donors for their support and confidence in this project. They are aware that their individual success will only be achieved through collective success, and therefore by a strong cohesion of the group.
We will accompany them every day, and wish them a great success!


On the spot, they are also supported by French volunteers who live in Ouagadougou ...
The opportunity to thank Sylvie, who via the "Grand Hotel Laïco" in Ouagadougou, recently recovered and allowed the redistribution of 80 mattresses to improve the comfort of her widowed mothers and their orphaned children whom we enroll.

We would like to thank all these people for their financial support, and moral support for the project "80 women - 80 activities" carried by Constantin of the Children of Abord Foundation in Burkina Faso, and by Gwendi of the association Petits Papillons in France (Which initiated and organized fundraising).

Thanks to Véronique, Elodie, Jean Pierre and Lucette, Catherine and Gérard, Armand, Roxane, Stéphanie, Faustine, Thierry, Regine, Meline and Evelise, Abo and Gwendi, Corinne, Berger, Emilie, Myriam, Syldia "Bastards of Briançon". Thanks also to Maryse and Veronique for the dissemination of the project which brought together many donors around this action.

"For a child to grow, it takes a whole village"

Amicale des veuves «AVEA»


« 80 femmes, 80 activités génératrices de revenus »

Marie, Fatou, Léa, … les voici ces femmes


Le Projet :
Permettre à 80 veuves de mieux subvenir aux besoins de leur famille par une activité économique digne et pérenne. Améliorer leurs conditions de vie est une nécessité impérieuse ! Ces femmes ne seront ainsi plus dévalalorisées par la communauté et assumeront fièrement leurs enfants de façon plus autonome sans attendre d’aide extérieure. Les revenus tirés de petits commerces, de petites exploitations agricoles ou de services permettront à ces familles de sortir de l’extrême pauvreté qu’elles subissent suite au décès du mari/père.

L’activité des ménages est essentielle pour assurer la santé, la sécurité et le développement des enfants.

Nous oeuvrons avant tout pour l’autonomie et l’indépendance de ces femmes.

Nous proposons aux veuves les plus motivées et les plus sérieuses d’avoir recours à un prêt à taux zéro. Ce prêt leur permet d’investir dans du petit matériel, des fournitures ou des matières premières. Nous les accompagnons financièrement, physiquement et moralement pour que chacune subvienne aux besoins de sa cellule familiale souvent composée de plusieurs enfants dont elles ont la charge seule depuis le décès de leur mari. La perte du mari est d’abord une souffrance émotionnelle pour la proche famille (femmes et enfants devenus ainsi orphelins) mais aboutit très vite à un état de précarité et engendre des difficultés quotidiennes pour la mère. Elle doit gérer seule toutes les dépenses de la famille : nourriture, frais de scolarité, frais de santé…

POUR RAPPEL : Le prêt à taux 0 n’est pas un micro crédit !!! Nous ne générons donc pas de profit. Il s’agit d’un système d’épargne autogéré, permettant à ses membres d’avoir accès à tour de rôle au financement du lancement de leur activité économique.

Ce programme a débuté à l’automne 2012 avec un budget de 1700 €.
La collecte, organisée par Gwendi, nous a permis de lancer le projet avec 40 d’entre elles dans un premier temps.
Ce projet concerne actuellement 80 femmes et 350 enfants.
En mai 2013, Greg (de Belgique) a soutenu ce programme et ces mamans par l’appel de 1000 euros supplémentaires !!

Mise en place : chacune suivra une formation de gestion simple et sera accompagnée plusieurs mois afin d’établir un projet solide et bien construit. Une fois l’activité choisie et le plan de gestion établi, chacune se voit attribuer la somme de 25.000 CFA (environ 38 €), couvrant leurs besoins d'investissement en matériel ou en fournitures.
Elles seront suivies individuellement chaque mois, par les 3 dames du bureau et par un comptable professionnel bénévole, afin de s’assurer de la bonne marche de leur activité.

Chaque mois se tient une assemblée générale animée par Constantin, le responsable des Enfants d’Abord. L’occasion pour chacune de se retrouver et d’échanger.

Le prêt a une durée de 6 mois. Le remboursement de 5.000 CFA est prévu chaque mois à partir du second mois.


Ce projet nous tient particulièrement à cœur puisque nous connaissons bien toutes ces mamans veuves, dont les orphelins sont scolarisés à notre école, et parrainés par certains d’entre vous !


"Des projets ...individuels, porteurs d'espoirs ...collectifs"

Voici quelques exemples de projets qui ont vu le jour, et qui se développent grâce à vous et à cette collecte de 1700 euros :

  • cuisines ambulantes
  • transformation d'arachides
  • transformation du maïs
  • production de savons

Ces activités touchent tous les secteurs : le secteur primaire (agriculture, élevage …), le secteur secondaire (transformation des produits, broderie, tissage …) et le secteur tertiaire (artisanat de service, métiers de proximité…).

Cette démarche a déjà été testée avec deux d’entre elles, avec l’aide de bénévoles. Elles ont été formées dans le domaine du commerce et de la comptabilité, afin de leur permettre de créer leur propre entreprise : l’une a ouvert un commerce de savon liquide et l’autre s’est spécialisée dans le tissage de pagnes traditionnels.

Le Bureau de l’Amicale est composé de trois veuves lettrées.

Les dossiers individuels sont montés, et l’argent distribué, avec tous les encouragements et bonnes recommandations pour la réussite de leur activité génératrice de revenus.

Un premier rapport a été réalisé par Toni, un bénévole anglais de passage quelques semaines en avril 2013. (voir le rapport en PDF)

Elles sont toutes très motivées, et remercient tous les donateurs de leur soutien, et de leur confiance en ce projet. Elles sont conscientes que leur réussite individuelle ne se réalisera que par la réussite collective, et donc par une forte cohésion du groupe.
Nous les accompagnerons au quotidien, et leur souhaitons une belle réussite !

Sur place, elles sont aussi soutenues par des bénévoles français résidents à Ouagadougou…
L’occasion de remercier Sylvie, qui via le « Grand hôtel Laïco » de Ouagadougou, a récemment récupéré et permis la redistribution de 80 matelas pour améliorer le confort de ses mamans veuves et de leurs enfants orphelins que nous scolarisons.

Nous tenons à remercier toutes ces personnes pour leur participation financière, et soutien moral au projet « 80 femmes - 80 activités » porté par Constantin de la Fondation les Enfants d’Abord au Burkina Faso, et par Gwendi de l’association Petits Papillons en France (qui a lancé et organisé la collecte des fonds).

Merci à Véronique, Elodie, Jean Pierre et Lucette, Catherine et Gérard, Armand, Roxane, Stéphanie, Faustine, Thierry, Régine, Mélinée et Evelise, Abo et Gwendi, Corinne, Berger, Emilie, Myriam, Syldia, Christiane, Claude et les « enfoirés de Briançon ». Merci également à Maryse et Véronique pour la diffusion du projet qui a permis de rassembler beaucoup de donateurs autour de cette action.

"Pour qu'un enfant grandisse, il faut tout un village"